Supporting your Research

Supporting Research

A Supportive Environment

The University of Lincoln provides rich and varied support for research across the institution. There are key academic and support roles dedicated to different disciplines in each College, as well as central roles that support bid writing, enterprise, ethics and Intellectual Property.

These staff are critical to helping us provide a friendly, supportive and academically challenging research environment. We aim to provide the necessary support at the different stages of your research career path, from post-doctoral and Early Career Researchers, through to our research chairs and professors. 

The Research and Enterprise Committee oversees the development of research activity and works to maintain the intensive research culture and infrastructure across the University. There is support from academic and professional staff across the institution. This Committee also deals with all elements of the University’s Strategic Plan which relate to enterprise, including employer engagement, knowledge transfer and exchange, incubation, employability, graduate enterprise, and IP and academic enterprise.

Early Career Researchers

At the University of Lincoln, we ensure that new academics, and those making the transition from postdoctoral research, receive the guidance and support they need to establish themselves as independent and confident researchers. Early Career Researchers are at the centre of our Research Plan, in recognition of the vital contribution they make to our diverse research environment and to ensuring our continued growth and success through innovative research projects.

The University of Lincoln is committed to the Vitae Concordat regarding the development of academic careers and aims to ensure that there is consistency of approach and support for researchers across our four Colleges. To this end, we provide assistance to College Research Centres and Groups on the establishment of local practices for the support of, and investment in, Early Career Researchers. This is underpinned by tailored personal and professional development programmes wherever posible. Students can join our Early Career Researcher Forum and join in dialogue, discussion and debate and find information on funding, bid writing, as well as how to join peer-to-peer mentoring and support activities.

Research and Income Generation Team

The University of Lincoln’s Research and Income Generation Team provides guidance, advice and information on funding opportunities, research bids and contractual advice. They provide expert services in research funding and support to colleagues including:

  • Identification and targeted dissemination of funding opportunities
  • Development of research proposals including redrafting and detailed comments
  • Costing and pricing of research proposals
  • Advice on eligibility issues and funder requirements
  • Guidance on good research practice, ethics and governance
  • Coordinating internal approvals and electronic bid submission
  • Contractual advice and guidance
  • Project set-up and post-award management support. 

They offer regular staff development and training events on finding research funding, research grant development and EU funding.

 

Head of Research
Dr Stephanie Maloney
T: +44 (0)1522 837876
E: smaloney@lincoln.ac.uk

 

College Research Officer, Arts
Lauren Steane
T: +44 (0)1522 837878
E: lsteane@lincoln.ac.uk

 

College Research Officer, Social Science
Lyndsey Kemsley
T: +44 (0)1522 837821
E: lkemsley@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Income Generation Manager (Knowledge Exchange)
Michelle Davis
T: +44 (0)1522 837832
E: mdavis@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research and Income Generation Support Manager
Tricia Marshall
T: +44 (0)1522 837838
E: tmarshall@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Income Generation Manager (IP & Contract Research)
Dr James Murray
T: +44 (0)1522 837835
E: jhmurray@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Repository & Information Officer
Bev Jones
T: +44 (0)1522 886721
E: bjones@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Excellence Framework Coordinator
Melanie Bullock
T: +44 (0)1522 837836
E: mbullock@lincoln.ac.uk

Business Development Manager

Michael Poole
T: +44 (0)1522 837426
E: mpoole@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Arts Development Officer

Chris Heighton
T: +44 (0)1522 837030
E: cheighton@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Administrator

Louise England
T: +44 (0)1522 886958
E: lengland@lincoln.ac.uk

Research Manager 

Carolyn Williams
T: +44 (0)1522 886642
E: cwilliams@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Officer

Helen Reece
T: +44 (0)1522 835828
E: hreece@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Officer

Suzannah Turner
T: +44 (0)1522 837853
E: suturner@lincoln.ac.uk

Business Development Manager

Steve Corbett
T: +44 (0)1522 886188
E: scorbett@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Business Development Manager

Jim Shutt
T: +44 (0)1522 835517
E: jshutt@lincoln.ac.uk

 

Research Officer 
College of Social Science

Alison Wilson
T: +44 (0)1522 837465
E: awilson@lincoln.ac.uk

Research Funding

In addition to funding from Research Councils, businesses and other collaborative partners, the University has internal research funding available to assist with the development of new strategic research opportunities.

Research Investment Fund

The Research Investment Fund (RIF) seeks to support the Lincoln research infrastructure through PhD studentships, equipment, and the pump-priming of new avenues of research in line with our University strategic plan.

Proposals are welcomed through a twice-yearly competitive process. Academic staff who are looking for investment for new, innovative research that could lead to external funding opportunities are encouraged to apply. Proposals that seek to expand cross-College, cross-disciplinary research and to build research capacity or resources that can be sustained after an initial period of development are also welcomed. The RIF is intended to support the development of strategic research projects, it complements existing funding support available through College funds.

College Research Investment Funds

College Research Investment Funds are similar to the Research Investment Fund, however, bids tend to be smaller in scale and are awarded at College rather than University level. Please contact the Research Office for further information: research@lincoln.ac.uk.

Postgraduate researchers can also find out about financial support on the Postgraduate Fees and Funding page. 

  

You can keep abreast of research news and funding opportunities by visiting the Research Blog

Strategy and Policies

The University of Lincoln supports a wide infrastructure of research roles and functions. We have gathered together the key documents that outline the research strategy and policies underpinning our research quality, governance and reporting. 

University of Lincoln Research Strategy (PDF)

Research Ethics Policy

Research Repository Policies